Marvel Comics has unveiled the outlines of its next big crossover event post-Empyre: X of Swords.  Four books, two "preludes" and two chapters, will be released in September, with nine chapters planned for October and 11 for November, according to an event checklist.

The four September releases are:


  • Excalibur #12, written by Tini Howard with art by Marcus To and cover by Mahmud Asrar
  • X-Men #12, written by Jonathan Hickman with art and cover by Leinil Francis Yu
  • X of Swords: Creation #1, written by Jonathan Hickman with art by Pepe Larraz and cover by Larraz and Mark Brooks
  • X-Factor #4, written by Leah Williams with art by Carlos Gomez and cover by Ivan Shavrin

Excalibur and X-Men are the prelude issues; X of Swords: Creation and X-Factor are the first two chapters.

The first glimpse of X of Swords will actually be in the free comic originally planned as this year’s Free Comic Book Day release, now planned for distribution in July.  Free Comic Book Day 2020: X-Men #1 features a story written by Jonathan Hickman with art by Pepe Larraz leading into the X of Swords crossover (see "Marvel to Releases its FCBD Comics in July").

Click Gallery below for all four covers and the checklist!