Marvel's Civil War #1 was named 'Best Single Issue or Story' at the 20th Annual Harvey Awards, which were presented on Saturday night at the Baltimore Comic-Con with Harvey and Eisner-award winner Kyle Baker presiding as Master of Ceremonies. Civil War, which was easily the most popular comic book event of the past year, was ignored at the Eisner Awards (see 'DC Dominates Eisners'), but took home the top mainstream comic trophy at the Harveys (which are named for the great Harvey Kurtzman, the genius behind the original Mad Magazine).


Ed Brubaker, who won the 'Best Writer' award at the 2006 Harveys (and also earned the 2007 Eisner 'Best Writer' title), took home the 'Best Writer' trophy again and his Daredevil was named 'Best Continuing or Limited Series.'  Top flight cover artist James Jean equaled Brubaker's success repeating as the winner of the Harvey for 'Best Cover Artist' (and also winning the 2007 Eisner).  Fantagraphics' The Complete Peanuts also garnered both the 2007 Harvey and Eisner Awards as 'The Best Domestic Reprint Project.'


Other key 2007 Harvey winners include: Brian Fies, who won 'Best New Talent' for Mom's Cancer; Bryan Lee O'Malley who received the 'Special Award for Humor in Comics' for his Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness; Brian K. Vaughan for Pride of Baghdad, which was named 'Best Graphic Album:' Kazu Kibuishi for Flight Vol.3, which won the 'Best Anthology' Harvey; and DC's The Spirit, which took the 'Best New Series' award.  Jaime Hernandez was named 'Best Cartoonist' for his long-running Love & Rockets, while Frank Quitely won the coveted 'Best Artist' award for his work on All-Star Superman.  Drawn & Quarterly received double recognition as two of its releases, the gekiga manga classic, Abandon the Old in Tokyo, and the delightful comic strip collection, Moomin, tied for 'The Best American Edition of Foreign Material' Award.


The 2007 Harvey Award Winners are:


Best Single Issue or Story: Marvel's Civil War #1.


Best Continuing or Limited Series: Daredevil, Marvel Comics.


Best Writer: Ed Brubaker, Daredevil.


Best New Series: Spirit, DC Comics


Best Cartoonist: Jaime Hernandez, Love & Rockets.


Best Artist: Frank Quitely, All-Star Superman.


Best Graphic Album -- Original: Pride of Bagdhad, DC/Vertigo.


Best Anthology: Flight 3, Ballantine Books.


Best New Talent: Brian Fries, Mom's Cancer.


Best Cover Artist: James Jean.


Best Domestic Reprint Project: The Complete Peanuts, Fantagraphics Books.


Best Historical or Journalistic Presentation: Art Out of Time: Comic Visionaries 1900-1969, Abrams.


Best American Edition of Foreign Material: (tie) Abandon the Old in Tokyo and Moomin, Drawn & Quarterly


Special Award for Humor in Comics: Bryan Lee O'Malley, Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness.


Best Graphic Album -- Previously Published: Absolute New Frontier, DC Comics.


Best Colorist: Lark Pien, American Born Chinese.


Best Letterer: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo.


Best Online Comics Work: Nicholas Gurewitch, Perry Bible Fellowship.


Best Inker: Danny Miki, Eternals.


Best Syndicated Strip: Keith Knight, The K Chronicles.


Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Lost Girls, Top Shelf.


Hero Initiative Presentation and Award: Joe Kubert