DC Comics has announced the return of Neil Gaiman’s seminal Vertigo comic The Sandman for the series 30th Anniversary, as the Sandman Universe, a line of four comic series launching in August.

Gaiman announced the project via EW,  in an interview about the history of the Endless, and how the new books, overseen by him, will progress with new characters and concepts. The first title will be The Sandman Universe one-shot in August. The story will catch readers up with what is happening in Dream’s world, now that he has gone missing. Also the House of Whispers has appeared next to Cain’s House of Mystery and Able’s House of Secrets, with a new resident. Other story threads will also be unfurled in the title, which is being written by Nalo Hopkinson, Kat Howard, Si Spurrier, and Dan Watters. The book will be drawn by Bilquis Everly and feature a cover by Jae Lee. Release is August 8.

Each of the writers will then explore different story threads in their own books: House of Whispers will be written by Hopkinson, Howard will script Books of Magic, Spurrier will write The Dreaming, and Watters will write Lucifer. Artists for the books will be announced at a later date. The Dreaming and House of Whispers will launch in September. Lucifer  and Books of Magic will launch in October.

See all the covers in the gallery below.