On December 20, Original X-Men #1 by Christos Gage and Greg Land marks the X-Men’s 60th anniversary.

The super-sized Original X-Men #1 features the founding five X-Men (Cyclops, Marvel Girl, Beast, Iceman, and Angel), the team from the 1963 X-Men #1 by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby. The cover, shown here, is by Ryan Stegman.

Taken across time to present day, similar to the All-New X-Men written by Brian Michael Bendis in 2012, the team is sent by the Phoenix Force on a multiversal mission.  The younger, idealistic versions face off against their older, more powerful, more jaded selves and all make hard choices.  This one-shot will leave one of the team members trapped in today’s world and set up a new X-Men series for 2024.