The first Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story was awarded to Girl Genius, Volume 8:  Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones.  The Webcomics collection, written by Kaja and Phil Foglio, with art by Phil Foglio and colors by Cheyenne Wright, beat out an impressive list of fellow nominees, including Fables, Serenity, Dresden Files, Y: The Last Man, and the other Webcomic collection in the list, Schlock Mercenary.  


The Awards were announced at the World Science Fiction Convention in Montreal last weekend. 


Neil Gaiman won his third Hugo Award and his second for Best Novel for The Graveyard Book.  His previous wins were for American Gods and Coraline


Here’s the full list of winners:


Best Novel: The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins; Bloomsbury UK)


Best Novella: “The Erdmann Nexus”, Nancy Kress (Asimov’s Oct/Nov 2008)


Best Novelette: “Shoggoths in Bloom”, Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s Mar 2008)


Best Short Story: “Exhalation”, Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)


Best Related Book: Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008, John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)


Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones, Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)


Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: WALL-E Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter, story; Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, screenplay; Andrew Stanton, director (Pixar/Walt Disney)


Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, Joss Whedon, & Zack Whedon, & Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director (Mutant Enemy)


Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow


Best Editor Long Form: David G. Hartwell


Best Professional Artist: Donato Giancola


Best Semiprozine: Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal


Best Fan Writer: Cheryl Morgan


Best Fanzine: Electric Velocipede edited by John Klima


Best Fan Artist: Frank Wu


And the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines): David Anthony Durham


For the full list of nominees, click here.