The Harvey Awards is inducting seven new members into its Hall of Fame next week at the awards ceremony on October 4, according to The New York Times.  The new inductees include two living creators and five deceased contributors to Mad Magazine, a paean to the magazine founded by Harvey Kurtzman, for whom the awards are named, in the wake of DC Comics’ decision to stop publishing most new material earlier this year (see "’Mad Magazine’ Ending Most New Material").

The two living creators are Alison Bechdel (Fun Home) and Mike Mignola (Hellboy).  The five deceased creators are Will Elder, Jack Davis, Ben Oda, and the siblings John and Marie Severin.  All five contributed to the first issue of Mad.

The Hall of Fame class was expanded from two members last year, when Dave Gibbons and Roz Chast were inducted (see "Harvey Awards Announce Hall of Fame Inductees").