The nominees for the Spiel des Jahres, the German "Game of the Year," were unveiled alongside nominations for the Kennerspiel des Jahres and Kinderspiel des Jahres.

The nominations and recommended titles were announced via YouTube by members of the jury.  Nominees for Spiel des Jahres were as follows:

• Captain Flip by from Remo Conzadori, Paolo Mori, and PlayPunk.

• In the Footsteps of Darwin by Gregory Grard, Matthieu Verdier, and Sorry We Are French (see " 'In the Footsteps of Darwin'").

• Sky Team by Luc Remond, Scorpion Masque and from KOSMOS in Germany (see " 'Sky Team'").

The jury “recommended” game list included Harmonies, Passt nicht!, Phantom Ink, Schätz it if you can, Trekking Through History, and Trio.

The Kennerspiel des Jahres (Enthusiasts Game of the Year) were also announced. It included the following:

• Daybreak by Matt Leacock, Matteo Menapace, and CMYK; and Schmidt Spiele in Germany.

• The Guild of Merchant Explorers by from Matthew Dunstan, Brett J. Gilbert, and AEG; and from Skellig Games in Germany (see "The Guild of Merchant Explorers'").

• Ticket to Ride Legacy: Legends of the West by Alan R. Moon, Rob Daviau, Matt Leacock, and Days of Wonder (see "'Legends of the West'").

The “recommended” games in this category were Bier Pioniere, Botanicus, Forest Shuffle, and Ritual.

Finally, the Kinderspiel des Jahres (Children’s Game of the Year) featured the following nominees:

• Große kleine Edelsteine by Wolfgang Warsch and Schmidt Spiele.

• Die magischen Schlüssel by Markus Slawitscheck, Arno Steinwender, and Happy Baobab; and from Game Factory in Germany.

• Taco Kitten Pizza Junior from Dave Campbell, Thierry Denoual, and Blue Orange.

The three games “recommended” for this category were Fluffy Valley, Lecker Lava, and Die Nadel im Heuhaufen.  Winners for all three awards will be announced in Berlin on July 21, 2024.