Neil Gaiman, Andy Kubert, and Richard Isanove are the winners of the first annual Quill Award for Best Graphic Novel for the time-bending 1602, which transported the Marvel universe to Elizabethan England.  Organized by NBC and Reed Business Information, the Quill Awards aim to promote reading and do for the literary world what the People's Choice Awards have done for movies, music, and television.  The Quill Awards debuted this year and will be presented in an award show that will air on NBC on Saturday, October 22nd.


Because this is the first year for the Quill Awards only about 25,000 readers participated in the online voting process by going to the Quills Foundation Website to choose between titles, which had been nominated based on starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, having been chosen for the Borders Original Voices, the Barnes & Noble Great New Writers Program, the Book Sense Picks, or making the PW, Borders, Book Sense, or Barnes & Noble bestseller lists.