HBO has issued a series order to Damon Lindelof’s Watchmen, based on the iconic Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons comic series.  Premiere is planned for 2019.

The pilot starred Regina King, Don Johnson, Jeremy Irons, Tim Blake Nelson, Louis Gossett Jr., Adelaide Clemens, and Andrew Howard (see "HBO's 'Watchmen' Pilot Casts First Stars").  According to Deadline,  the full cast includes Andrew Howard, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Tom Mison, Frances Fisher, Jacob Ming-Trent, Sara Vickers, Dylan Schombing, Lily Rose Smith and Adelynn Spoon.

Lindelof has previously stated that this adaptation will attempt to break new ground while still embracing the original material.