Dark Horse will end its sequence of Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. miniseries set in the 1950s with Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1957, a quintet of five independent but interconnected one-shots written by Mike Mignola and Chris Roberson. All the one-shots will have covers by Laurence Campbell, but the interiors will be done by different artists. Here’s the lineup:

  • Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1957 — Family Ties, with art by Laurence Campbell
  • Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1957 — Forgotten Lives, with art by Stephen Green;
  • Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1957 — Fearful Symmetry, with art by Alison Sampson
  • Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1957 —Falling Sky, with art by Shawn Martinbrough)
  • Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1957 — From Below, with art by Mike Norton

In Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1957 — Family Ties, which will be released on September 15, Hellboy and B.P.R.D. agent Susan Xiang are searching for a missing copy of Gustav Strobl’s Witchcraft and Demonology when they are interrupted by a woman asking for help with an unwelcome houseguest, creating a distraction with many implications. 

When this miniseries is over, Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. will move on to stories set in the 1960s.

The Occult Cold War storyline began with Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1952, a five-issue miniseries written by Mignola and John Arcudi, with art by Alexander Maleev (see “Review: ‘Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1952’”). That was followed by series set in 1953, 1954, 1955, and 1956.

Click Gallery for full-size art!