IDW Publishing and Desperado have announced a publishing agreement under which Desperado’s comics, art books, and graphic novels will be published by IDW under a new Desperado imprint. 


Founded in 2004 by industry veteran Joe Pruett, who edited Caliber’s Negative Burn anthology in the 1990s, Desperado has published art books, such as The Art of Brian Bolland, Archetype: The Art of Tim Bradstreet, The Art of P. Craig Russell, and The Art of Joe Jusko as well as comics and graphic novels.  From 2004 to 2007 Desperado titles were published by Image.  In May of 2007 Desperado began publishing on its own (see “Desperado Leaves Image”).


Since 2007 Desperado comics have been nominated for five Eisner Awards and won two.  Its 2010 lineup, which will be published through IDW, will include works from top flight creators including Dave Dorman, Tony Harris, and George Perez.