Ed Brubaker won the 2006 Harvey Award for best writer for his work on Captain America as Marvel Comics dominated the Harvey Awards for the first time.  Marvel won five Harveys altogether, the publisher's highest total ever (Marvel took home 4 in 1994), including some very key awards such as 'Best New Series' (Young Avengers), 'Best Continuing Series' (Runaways), 'Best New Talent' (Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa shared the award with R. Kikuo Johnson) and 'Best Colorist' (Laura Martin for her work on Astonishing X-Men).


DC Comics artists and writers landed four awards including 'Best Artist' (J.H. Williams III for Wildstorm's Promethea), 'Best Cover Artist' (James Jean for Fables), 'Best Anthology' (Solo), and the 'Special Award for Humor in Comics' (Kyle Baker for Plastic Man).


Fantagraphics Books also won four Harveys including 'Best Biographical, Historical or Journalistic Presentation' for The Comics Journal, 'Best Single Issue or Story' for Love and Rockets Vol. 2 #15, 'Best Inker' (Charles Burns for his work on Black Hole #12), and 'Best New Talent Award,' which R. Kikuo Johnson shared thanks to his debut graphic novel, Night Fisher.


Chris Ware won both the 'Best Cartoonist' and 'Best Letterer' Awards for his self-published Acme Library #16, while Tony Millionaire took home the 'Best Syndicated Strip or Panel' for his self-syndicated comic strip The Maakies.


Top Shelf won the prestigious 'Best Original Graphic Album' Award for Alex Robinson's Tricked, while Pantheon Books garnered the 'Best Graphic Album -- Previously Published Award' for Charles Burns' Black Hole.  Vertical Books won 'Best American Edition of Foreign Material' for its Buddha manga, and James Kochalka took home the 'Best Online Comics Work' Harvey for his American Elf online strip.


Sunday Press Books won two Harveys, 'Best Domestic Reprint Project' and the 'Special Award for Excellence in Presentation' for its spectacular Little Nemo in Slumberland: So Many Sundays.