Days of Wonder has announced that the initial winner of the 2014 Ticket to Ride World Championship has been disqualified for cheating, leading to the announcement of a new winner.
Erwin Pauelsen, National Champion from The Netherlands, initially bested the other 27 National Champions at the event held  Saturday, September 27th at the Musee de la Carte a Jouer (Card Game Museum) at Issy-les-Moulineaux, near Paris, France.  After Pauelsen’s win in the final match, contestants and fans who watched the tournament live on the Internet voiced concerns about cheating during the final match.  Days of Wonder officials examined the final matches, and did find evidence of cheating during the second game of the final, with which they confronted Pauelsen.  Pauelsen admitted his guilt, and returned the title and Golden Train Trophy. 
Thus, Kenneth Heilfron, one of two National Champion contestants from the USA, was named the 2014 Ticket to Ride Champion.  The winner receives a grand prize that includes a 9 day/8 night trip for two to Asia, including 3 nights aboard the Eastern & Oriental Express.