San Diego Comic-Con News: Though much of the coverage of this year’s Comic-Con has talked about how movies, games, TV series are displacing comics as the focus of the SDCC, the spotlight shifted back to the printed page at the Eisner Awards dinner where the 2017 Awards were announced.  After being shut out at the Eisner’s last year, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples’ Saga, which had already won 8 Eisners from 2013 to 2015, took home 4 more (the most it has ever won in a single year) including “Best Continuing Series,” “Best Writer,” “Best Penciller,”  and “Best Cover Artist,” to make it an even dozen.

Other big winners include Singaporean cartoonist Sonny Liew, whose The Art of Charle Chan Hock Chye took home three awards including “Best Writer/Artist,” “Best Publication Design,” and “Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia;” Jill Thompson, who won “Best Painter/Multimedia Artist” and “Best Single Issue/One Shot,” for her work on Wonder Woman: The True Amazon and Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In;” and Tom King, who won “Best Limited Series” for his writing on The Vision, and “Best Short Story” for his Batman vignette “Good Boy.”

The highly coveted Will Eisner Spirit of Retailing Award went to Comicazi of Sommerville, Massachusetts.

For a complete list of all the excellent work that was nominated for the 2017 Eisners see “The 2017 Eisner Award Nominees.”  Here is a complete list of the 2017 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards:

Best New Series: Black Hammer, by Jeff Lemire and Dean Ormston (Dark Horse)

Best Limited Series: The Vision, by Tom King and Gabriel Walta (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series: Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Demon, by Jason Shiga (First Second)

Best Reality-Based Work: March, by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Top Shelf)

Best Graphic Album—New: Wonder Woman: The True Amazon, by Jill Thompson (DC)

Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan (Paper Girls, Saga) (Image)

Best Writer/Artist: Sonny Liew (The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye) (Pantheon)

Best Penciller/Inker—Individual or Team: Fiona Staples (Saga) (Image)

Best Coloring: Matt Wilson (Cry Havoc, Paper Girls, The Wicked + The Divine; Black Widow, The Mighty Thor, Star-Lord) (Image, Marvel)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist: Jill Thompson (Wonder Woman: The True Amazon; Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In) (DC, Dark Horse)

Best Lettering: Todd Klein (Clean Room, Dark Night, Lucifer; Black Hammer) (DC, Dark Horse)

Best Digital Comic: Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover

Best Webcomic: Bird Boy, by Anne Szabla

Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples (Saga) (Image)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material: Moebius Library: The World of Elena, by Jean “Moebius” Giraud et al. (Dark Horse)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia: The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)

Best Humor Publication: Jughead, by Chip Zdarsky, Ryan North, Erica Henderson, and Derek Charm (Archie)

Bill Finger Award: William Messner-Loebs and Jack Kirby

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: The AV Club

Best Comics-Related Book: Krazy: George Herriman: A Life in Black and White, by Michael Tisserand (Harper)

Best Academic/Scholarly Work: Superwomen: Gender, Power, and Representation, by Carolyn Cocoa (Bloomsbury)

Best Publication Design: The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, designed by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)

Best Short Story: “Good Boy,” by Tom King and David Finch, in Batman Annual #1 (DC)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot: Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In, by Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer, and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)

Best Anthology: Love Is Love, edited by Sarah Gaydos and Jamie S. Rich (IDW, DC)

Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Anne Szabla, writer/artist of Bird-Boy

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Joe Ferrara, for work in prostate cancer awareness, and Mark Andreyko, for the Love Is Love anthology.

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8): Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea, by Ben Clinton (Tundra)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12): Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17): The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson (Marvel)

Hall of Fame: Judges’ Choices: Milt Gross, H.G. Peter, Antonio Prohias, Dori Seda Voters’ Choices: Gilbert Hernandez, Jaime Hernandez, George Perez, Walter Simonson, James Starlin

Will Eisner Spirit of Retailer Award: Comicazi, Somerville, MA

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: Chester Gould’s Dick Tracy, Colorful Cases of the 1930s, edited by Peter Maresca (Sunday Press)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: The Complete Wimmin’s Comix, edited by Trina Robbins, Gary Groth, and J. Michael Catron (Fantagraphics)