The Game Manufacturers Association has made changes to the Origins Awards for the 2022 cycle.

The Origins Awards return after a stint of being delayed by the pandemic and other issues (see "Origins Awards Delayed"). Now, the awards for 2022 will be announced in at GAMA Expo 2023, and will include new categories to better reflect the makeup of the new board structure and the membership. The categories are as follows:

  • Tabletop Game of the Year
  • Best Board Game
  • Best Card Game
  • Best Children’s Game
  • Best Miniatures Game
  • Best Collectable Game
  • Best Roleplaying Game Core Book
  • Best Roleplaying Game Supplement
  • Best Game Artwork (2D)
  • Best Game Artwork (3D)
  • Best Game Review
  • Best Game Accessory

The major changes to the awards from the previous revamping of the categories in 2020/2021 (see "2020/2021 Cycle") is the addition of two artwork categories, one for 2D pieces and one for 3D pieces, and a Best Game Review category. The Academy has also streamlined both the board games and the miniatures games categories down to single award categories, and the RPG categories have been reduced from three award categories to two award categories. Also of note, they have outright eliminated the Digital Adaptation category.

The eligibility period for the 2022 Origins Awards will be from January 1, 2022 to December 15, 2022, and the submission window will be from October 1, 2022 to December 15, 2022.