The Eisner Awards judges have selected four people to be added to the Eisner Hall of Fame in 2019.

Silver Age artist Jim Aparo (Brave and the Bold, Batman and the Outsiders), Golden Age creator June Tarpé Mills (Miss Fury), writer and artist Dave Stevens (The Rocketeer), and cartoonist Morrie Turner (Wee Pals) will join the vaunted ranks of the Eisner Hall of Fame.

A further 14 people have been shortlisted for induction, with Eisner voters making the ultimate decision on which four will be included. The nominees are Brian Bolland, Kevin Eastman, Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez, Lynn Johnston, Jenette Kahn, Paul Levitz, Alex Nino, Lily Renée, Peter Phillips, Wendy & Richard Pini, P. Craig Russell, Bill Sienkiewicz, Don & Maggie Thompson, Akira Toriyama, and Naoki Urasawa.

Voting is open until March 15. The inductees will be announced at San Diego Comic-Con on July 19 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel.

The 2019 Eisner judges are journalist Chris Arrant, academic/author Jared Gardner, librarian Traci Glass, retailer Jenn Haines, reviewer Steven Howearth, and comics creator Jimmie Robinson.

With the exception of Will Eisner’s centennial celebration, Eisner judges generally only induct two people. Last year, the judges selected Carol Kalish and Jackie Ormes (see “Eisner Hall of Fame Adds Carol Kalish and Jackie Ormes”). Voters added Charles Addams, Karen Berger, Dave Gibbons, and Rumiko Takahashi to the Hall of Fame (see “'Monstress' & 'My Favorite Thing Is Monsters' Dominate the Eisners”).