Sony Pictures Television and Hivemind are developing a live-action adaptation of Final Fantasy XIV, the companies announced.  Ben Lustig and Jake Thornton, who wrote a script for the slow-gestating T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents film (see "T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents Planned as Franchise"), have been signed to write and will also serve as Executive Producers, along with Jason F. Brown, Sean Daniel, and Dinesh Shamdasani of Hivemind.

Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Michael Chabon (The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Klay has been named showrunner of Picard, the new Star Trek series being shot for CBS All Access, according to Variety.  Chabon had been a writer for the series (see "Michael Chabon Writes ‘Star Trek’").  In addition to Patrick Stewart, the show will star Alison Pill, Michelle Hurd, Evan Evagora, Isa Briones, Santiago Cabrera and Harry Treadaway.  The first teaser was released last month (see "First ‘Star Trek: Picard’ Teaser").

Leana Headey, Benedict Wong, Awkwafina, Sigourney Weaver, Hannah John-Kamen and Dave Goelz have joined the cast for the upcoming Netflix series The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance, per Deadline.  They join an extensive list of other cast members with geek cred (see "’Dark Crystal’ Photos and Star Studded Cast").  A first teaser was released last month (see "Trailers for ‘Dark Crystal’").

Village Roadshow Entertainment Group has acquired the film and TV rights to 1993 computer adventure game Myst, according to Entertainment Weekly.  Village Roadshow will develop the series and film with Myst co-creators Rand and Robyn Miller, according to the report.  The game has sold over 15 million copies.

The CW announced the Fall premiere dates for its geek fare:  October 6 for Batwoman and Supergirl, The Flash on October 8, Nancy Drew and Riverdale on October 9, Charmed on October 11, Arrow on October 15, and Black Lightning on October 21.

FX has signed Eliza Clark (Animal Kingdom, The Killing) as the new writer, exec producer, and showrunner of Y: The Last Man, according to Deadline.  Clark was needed to replace the previous showrunners, who left over "creative differences" (see "’Y: The Last Man’ Showrunners Leave Over Creative Differences").  Cast members were also announced:  Diane Lane, Barry Keoghan, Imogen Poots, Lashana Lynch, Juliana Canfield, Marin Ireland and Amber Tamblyn.  The cast is a holdover from the previous regime.  FX has ordered a first season of the series based on the Vertigo comic series by Brian K. Vaughan and Pia Guerra.